Delete Another User’s Workspace in TFS

I’ve run into this problem several times. A build blows up for some reason and creates an orphaned workspace. Other builds then fail with the message The path […] is already mapped in workspace […].

tfsbuild_alreadymapped

The way that I’ve dealt with this in the past is to simply delete the workspace, which you can do easily enough by using the tf workspace command.

tf workspace /delete someworkspace;somedomain\someuser

When you run the command, you’ll be warned that deleted workspaces cannot be recovered and prompted to confirm.

tfsbuild_reallydeleteworksp

Type “Yes” and the deed is done. Run another build, and you should be good!

 

Advertisements

One thought on “Delete Another User’s Workspace in TFS”

  1. I found a third party tool that can delete multiple work spaces called Team Foundation Sidekick from Attrice Corporation. I have used it to clean up work spaces of former employees and even current employees that have invalid work spaces because of new computers. The tool queries the TFS database using a few parameters and returns the results in a grid.

Leave a comment

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s